Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits.

The annual report sent by Olympic foods to shareholders is flawed due to numerous reasons. Firstly, the report wrongly asserts that processing costs of two vastly different kinds of industries, namely food and colour film, are similar which is a far fetched assumption. Secondly, the report fails to mention how much drop in processing costs can be expected which can have a direct impact on whether or not the company will earn any profit. Then the report makes a very bold conclusion on the basis of their experience in food industry that they will definitely be able to minimise costs without considering whether it is a feasible idea.

The report compares two very different kinds of industries and states that as color film industry was able to reduce processing costs over a period of time, food industry will be to do so as well. The drop in processing costs in color film industry might be due to advancement in technology and availability of cheap processing units over the course of time. There might be a stagnation in the technology involved in food processing industry which might not allow such cost drops. If this might be the case, the graph of processing cost year on year might show a vastly different picture.

The report fails to mention the exact amount of drop percentage that the company expects. If the drop is 50 percent, that will surely impact the profit directly. However, if the drop is less than 5 percent then that will cast doubt on any significant amount of profit that can be observed. It is quite common for the budget of large industry units to spike up for large number of reasons and that will cloud the profit observed in processing unit.

The report also makes a bold conclusion that "experience" is the only factor that will help Olympian food to get a profit. It fails to mention any detailed reason on how experience can actually bring the processing costs down. There a other kinds of scenarios that are possible as well. For example, the company might realise there is little feasibility in bringing the cost down as it would require substantial investment in research and development. Even if the company can afford to do so, there is no guarantee that costs will actually come down and profit will actually yield.

As the report asserts its arguments from wrong comparisons, fails to provide numerical data on the amount of drop expected and also makes strong conclusion on the assumption that "experience" is not only ingredient required to bring the costs down and profits up, it fails to give a strong ground on whether or not Olympian Food will experience profit due to reduced processing costs.