The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the preceding argument we find that the president of Grove College argues that adopting coeducation to the all-female college will increase the number of applications and enrollments to the college. However, the director opposes this view by saying that being an all-female education upholds the identity of the college. While both arguments may seem valid at first glance, upon scrutiny we can find that they are poorly reasoned and based on several questionable assumptions. Hence, We need more information regarding the college to support both claims.

To begin with, the president assumes that increase in the number of application and enrollments in other colleges after adopting coeducation will likely be the case in Grove College. We need more information about the two colleges to support this claim. Maybe the other all-female college has increased the quality of their staffs while adopting coeducation, rendering its increase in applications and enrollments. Again, the lab and other facilities provided by the college may be superior compared to Grove college, or the location of the college makes it more accessible and cheaper for the students to live in. If these hold to be the real reasons behind the increase in applications and enrollments in other colleges, then by simply making Grove College admit male candidates would not beget the desired results.

In addition, the director's argument about the college's identity based on a survey conducted on incoming students and alumnae needs to be validated. The survey should include more volunteers. The identity of the college has to be determined not just by incoming students and alumnae, but also by current the students in the college and the teaching and non-teaching staffs. Their opinions are also to be considered in the survey. Moreover, the survey needs to be representative of all classes rather than focusing on just one group. Also, we need to know whether proper emphasis was given on the question about adopting coeducation in college. If the question was among other 30 questions that needed to be answered, proper importance wouldn't be given while answering the question. Furthermore, the particular question that was asked on the survey would provide more clarity on the issue. For example, the response to the question as to whether Grove College should adopt coeducation wouldn’t be the same as to whether admitting male candidates would tarnish the identity of Grove College. Thus, several questions need to be answered in order to make the Directors claim valid.

While both the arguments exist, another primal point that needs to be answered remains unquestioned. The feasibility of the proposed plan is nowhere mentioned in the argument. In order to accommodate the increased applications and enrollments, sufficient seats should be available in the college first. Moreover, Hostel and accommodation facilities for the increased number of students also need to be given consideration. Without proper facilities to accommodate the increased demand, the plan would only cause inconveniences on both students’ and management's sides. Likewise, the competitiveness of the expected male candidates has to be predicted. If the males, for whatsoever reason, tend to be less competent than females, then a drastic change in enrollment seems unlikely. Had the author provided more information regarding the feasibility of the plan, the argument would have been a cogent case.

In sum, both the President and the Director of Grove College seem to put forward an illogical argument based on unsubstantial assumptions. Without proper evidence to support their claims, their arguments will likely convince few people.