The problem of poorly trained teachers that has plagued the state public school system is bound to become a good deal less serious in the future. The state has initiated comprehensive guidelines that oblige state teachers to complete a number of required credits in education and educational psychology at the graduate level before being certified.

Write a response in which you discuss how well reasoned you find the argument. In your response, describe specific examples or evidence needed to evaluate the argument and how those examples or evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the problem of poorly trained teachers in the state public school system will be solved due to the newly initiated guidelines that mandate state teachers to complete a number of required credits at the graduate level before being certified may seem logical at first glance. However, the author relies on unsupported assumptions about the root of the problem and the implementation of the policy, and does not provide adequate evidence to support her policy proposal. Therefore, the argument is fundamentally flawed.

First and foremost, the author assumes that the root cause of the problem of poorly trained teachers is inadequate teacher training and educational credits. As such, if the state oblige state teachers to complete a number of required credits in education and educational psychology at the graduate level before being certified, the problem would be solved. The author needs to provide more evidence and data to back her statement. Was there a conclusive study done that shows teacher training and teaching performance had a positive correlation? Is the lack of teacher training the main factor in subpar performance, or was it other factors such as attitude and communication? If the study shows that a lack of teacher training is the main factor of poor teacher performance, requiring graduate level credits would certainly improve the quality of teachers in public schools. As such, more data is needed to evaluate the root of the problem so that we can adequately address the problem with effective policies.

Furthermore, the author does not provide information on how unqualified teachers will be phased out and how new teachers with the required credits would be hired into the state system. Will current public school teachers who do not meet such qualifications be let go of their jobs, or would help be given so that they can receive the training required? Additionally, since higher education is expensive and graduates generally expect better wages, will the state have the budget necessary to hire these newly qualified candidates? If the state implemented the new policy without having a plan set in place to transition personnel, the new policy would not have a significant impact on the problem of poorly trained teachers.

Last but not least, the author needs to provide more data and evidence that requiring credits in education and educational psychology at the graduate level will improve the quality of teacher performance. While teacher training and higher education is important, there are various skillsets that teachers will need to acquire outside the classroom to truly excel. For example, teachers who are better communicators or more creative might perform at a higher level. Both skills mentioned are things not taught in the classroom. On the other hand, if a survey showed that most current public school teachers already have the required credits mandated, the new policy will probably not impact teacher performance. As such, if the author could provide research studies from cities who implemented similar policies to support her assertions, as well as determine whether current public school teachers already have the required educational credits, her argument would be validated.

In conclusion, the writer is not necessarily mistaken in stating that the problem of poorly trained teachers can be solved with more teacher training and educational requirements. After all, more training and education would probably not have an adverse effect on the quality of teachers in the state public school system. However, to support her assertion, the author must first address her assumptions on the root cause of the problem and the strategy to phase in more qualified teachers, as well as provide evidence of the educational breakdown of current public school teachers and data showing positive outcomes from cities with similar policies. If the author manages to do all of the above, her argument would have more legitimacy.