Prunty attempt to improve highway safety failed as the number of accidents remains unchanged. In addition, many drivers are still exceeding the speed limit. Instead of lowering the speed limit on the highway from 55 to 45, Prunty County should have followed the same road improvement done by Butler County five years ago as Butler County has 25 fewer percent in accident than they were 5 years ago.

The author claims that Prunty County’s attempted to improve highway safety failed as the number of accidents remains unchanged and many drivers were exceeding the speed limit imposed by Prunty County. Instead of lowering the speed limit on the highway from 55 to 45, the author believe Prunty County should have followed the same road improvement done by Butler County five years ago if Prunty County want to improve highway safety as Butler County has 25 fewer percent in accident than they were 5 years ago. Ignoring whether the author is correct in this regard, the arguments given by the author is not logically sound. The author assumes the approaches done by Butler County would have worked on Prunty County just because it worked before without any real evidence. Furthermore, the author attempts to undermine the effect of speed limit is not entirely true due to the lack of empirical data.

First, the author assumes that just because Prunty County works on increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections had reduced the number of accidents by 25% compared to five years ago, that it would also reduce the number of accidents in Prunty County’s as well. This might not always be the case. Prunty County highway road condition might already are in good shape already, and the attempts to improve the already well-made highway would not lead to more safety highway. There is no direct evidence that suggests that Prunty County’s would gain the same benefit Butler County had gain from improving the highway. If the author had explains more on this regard, it would have bolstered his claims.

Also, the author states that imposing a speed limit in Prunty County’s highway is not effective. The author uses the number of accidents remains unchanged as an evidence for the policy’s ineffectiveness. However, this evidence shown by the author can not be taken into account. We have to consider the condition of accidents on the highway on the previous years as well. It might be the case that the number of accidents prior of the speed limit is actually increasing. If this were true, then it would greatly undermine the author claims, as the speed limit policy is actually effective. The author should have added more evidence on the ineffectiveness of the speed limit on Prunty County highway.

In addition, the author points out that many drivers were exceeding the speed limit, hoping to prove that the speed limit were ignored by the drivers. Nevertheless, the author failed shows the impact of these drivers who were ignoring the speed limit. The author didn’t show the exact number of drivers who were exceeding the speed limit, and whether the number remains the same after the policy or not. If the number of drivers who exceed the speed limit decreased, then the speed limit imposed by Prunty County actually was effective. The author attempts to prove that the speed limit is not effective by showing that there are some drivers ignoring the speed limit, but this is not logically sound. Having more evidence on the magnitude of drivers ignoring the speed limit would have bolster the author claim.

In conclusion, the author attempts to debase the plan to improve the highway safety failed due to the author’s failure to show how Butler County’s plan five years ago would have worked in Prunty County as well. The author could have given more information about the similarity in the two County, and the shared situation the two were in. In addition, the author failed to proof that lowering the speed limit is actually ineffective. While the author gives the evidence of the same number of accidents and the fact that many drivers still ignored the speed limit, both of the evidence is flawed. The first evidence failed to consider the past data and just assume that the policy is not effective. The second evidence is too vague and does not give any valuable details that prove the ineffectiveness of the speed limit. Thus, the author failed to proof that Prunty County should have imposed the road improvement project.