The purpose of higher education is to prepare students for the future, but Classen students are at a serious disadvantage in the competition for the post- college employment due to the University's burdensome requirements. Classen's Job placement rate is substantially lower than placement rates of many top-ranked schools. Classen students would be more attractive to employers if they had more time to take advanced courses in their speciality, rather than being required to spend fifteen percent of their time at Classen taking courses outside of their subject area. We demand, therefore, that the University abandon or drastically cut back on its breadth requirements.

The author contends that low placement rate of Classen students compared to other universities is: they have to spend fifteen percent of time at Classen taking courses outside their subject area and this burdensome breadth requirement is a serious disadvantage for the students. Author demands the university should cut back on its breadth requirements which would allow students to take advanced courses. While the argument may seem plausible at first glance, the scrutiny of the evidences reveals that the assumptions are unwarranted.

First and foremost, the author assumes that the students of the Classen University are equally capable as of other universities if provided with advanced courses. Although this could be true, it is no guaranteed that the students of the Classen have similar academic and other required qualifications as that demanded by the employers. The students of other top-ranked schools may bear better confidence level and aptitude required for the jobs than that of Classen's and on the ground of theirs inherit characteristics employer's are selecting other students.

Secondly, the author cites that the additional courses other than their subject area as burdensome, however, demands for the advanced courses. This assumption seems to be made without clear evidences: the advanced courses could also be the burdensome for the students. The advanced courses may eventually be more hectic and students could not cope with the demand of advanced courses. Furthermore, the courses that are currently offered to the students may be sufficient enough to meet their academic requirements and there is no need of the advanced courses at all.

Moreover, the author suggests that the students are taking the courses outside of their subject area but fails to state what those courses deals with. The courses although seem to be outside the related subject but may be required for the professional life. If the courses teach about the professional attributes, those required while acquiring the job and during the professional career, then instead of the courses being burdensome they prove to be important assets for the Classen students. In this scenario the students chance placement increases rather than get diminished as cited by the author.

The argument would be strengthened considerably if the author provides sufficient statistics to back the claim that Classen’s students have same level of aptitude as of other universities. Additionally, the author, should clearly indicates whether the advanced courses would be required for students and won't be burdensome for the students. Similarly, there must be clear evidence that the extra courses outside the area of study is hindering the students from their possible placement oppurtunities and offer no useful knowledge that could be helpful for the students in finding suitable jobs. Therefore, further investigations are required before cutting back the breadth requirements of the universities.