A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument predicts that the new Captain Seafood restaurant which specialises in seafood will be very profitable. To buttress his prediction, he lists several evidences, such as the increase consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City, no other rivals which only offer seafood and a nationwide study. Such an argument seems to be eloquent at first glance, but it reveals logical flaws on scrutiny. Therefore, it needs more concrete evidence to support the prediction.

Firstly, the argument cites the data from a recent sales study which indicates the consumption of seafood has experienced a 30 percent increase in the past five years. However, it is entirely possible that the figure of the seafood consumption five years ago is very small, thus a 30 percent increase will not make an difference to overall data. Thus, detailed figures about the seafood consumption five years ago should be presented so as to make the argument more cogent. Otherwise, I will not be convinced that seafood consumption is getting more and more popular, and thereby resulting in the popularity of Captain Seafood restaurant.

Secondly, the argument also presents the fact that there’s no rival whose focus is seafood. However, no rival doesn’t mean that it is easy to open a seafood restaurant and make a huge profit. Perhaps the reason why there’s no seafood restaurant operating in Bay City is that people don’t like to eat seafood in the restaurant, instead they are more likely to have home-cooking seafood. Thus, without detailed investigation about why no restaurant is currently open in Bay City, the operation of the new seafood restaurant is risky and may not earn the desired profits.

Finally, the argument points out a nationwide study to indicates that two-income families eat less home-cooked meals and concern more about healthful eating. However, whether such a nationwide study could represent the situation in Bay City is questionable. Maybe two-income families in the city still maintain the tradition to eat home-cooking food, as it is more healthy. Moreover, even if families in Bay City do follow the eating habits as explained in the nationwide study, the argument didn’t mention that eating in the restaurant is more healthy, which is a new pursuit of such families’ eating habits. Thus, the argument should offer more specific evidence that families in the city do eat more often in the restaurants in order to bolster the prediction.

Summing up, the argument is based on several precarious assumptions which certainly undermine the credibility of its prediction about the popularity of the newly opened seafood restaurant and its ability to earn huge profits. Thus, more evidences, such as detailed data about seafood consumption five years ago, a study about local eating habits, etc, should be presented to make it more cogent.