A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Author claims that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. This claim is based on study which studied children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal and children living in suburban areas in United states. To reach a conclusion, author makes lot of assumptions.

The eating habits of children is not mentioned. It plays a measure role in evaluating the cause of tooth decay. The eating habits of children from different region might be different. The food taken by children in suburban areas may be a root cause of tooth decay. For preventing a tooth decay, cleaning your teeth regularly is also important factor to be considered. The children living in Himalayan mountain might be cleaning their teeth regularly compared to children in suburban parts of united states.

so, author should consider the eating habit as well as regularity in cleaning teeth.

Author mentions regarding study of children from different parts. The study did not mention, how it gathered a data regarding tooth decay. The data for tooth decay might be collected from dental care clinics. As it mentioned, children living in Himalayan mountain region receives little to no professional health care. so, there may be less reporting of tooth decay in this area. on other hand, children living in suburban parts of united states visits regularly to clinic. so, there may be more cases reported in clinic in suburban parts of united states.

The eating habits, regularity in cleaning teeth plays important role to prevent tooth decay. The study can be obtained from local dental clinic. so, the accuracy of data considered to be checked.