A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims here that, regular checkups with dentists is not helping to reduce dental decay and neglecting the checkups will result in

decreased dental decay. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention some key features on the basis of which it could have been evaluated.

To support his claim, the author reasons that, as children in nepal, with little to no dental care, are facing less dental decay, then it must be the regular

dental care that is increasing the dental decay. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support to author's claim.

Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsustainable.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that, as children of suburban areas of USA are seeing dentists in regular intervaal, this is causing the dental decay rate

to increase. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. To illustarte, the children in suburban areas might be using some product which are

actually harming their tooth. The good products may not be available there. So, the dentists are also unable to recommend the good product, thinking

they will not find it nereby. Hence, it would have been much more convincing if the author explicitely stated that, suburban areas also have the same products

but still tooth decay rates are higher.

Again, the author points out to the fact that, children in Himalayan mountain region are facing less tooth decoy problem. This is again a weak and

unsupported claim which does not demonstrate any clear correlation between less exposer to dentist and their tooth decay rate. There may have been other

reasons for which they are not facing the problem. For example, they might be using some natuarsal elements to brush their teeth. The water or any other

element may be beneficial to the health of the tooth. So, if the author provided evidence that there is not any advantagve of the location

regarding tooth, it would have been much more convincing.

Finally, the author conclusion raises some skepticall questions. Are nepali children have a tooth structure better than suburban areas children?

Do nepal have some natural elemts help to lessen the decay rate of tooth? Are doctors less qualified in suburbs? Without answering these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claim is just

a wishful thinking of the author ratherthan substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster further, the autrhor must have provided evidence with the help of some statistics from reliable sorces.

Without those, the argument is weak.