The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether enforcing a law about strict amount of wastage generation is the best way to reduce wastage or not. Indisputably, a law in taken more seriously by people than any types of public awareness campaign. Nevertheless, some problems actually require the campaign and awareness types of activity to be resolved more efficiently. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that enforcing law is the best way to solve wastage problem and would argue that there are better ways.

First of all, when people are forced to follow some rules and regulations, they always tend to find a way to bypass that rule. The people making more waste than other were previously exposed to the authorities as their wastage were colltected by the authorities. But after the rule, they may plan to put their wastes privately by themselves. I would like to point out that, as they may privatelty throw the waste away, they may actually waste more.

Furthermore, the people who would actually respect the law would try to make less wastage. As a result, they will buy less products. Specifically, the products making the most wastage. In this process, the demand of many goods will decrease and this will result in fall of revenue for the businessmen of many types of prducts. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that enforcing a law doesn't actually solve the problem in question, it actually give rise to other types of problems. Hence, all the evidence above reveals that, imposing strict limits on amount of wastage does not solve the problem.

Admittedly, a law can always make the customers think before they generate any unnecessary wastage. This is true specially when people are mostly affluent and tend to use more products than necessary. In addition, it can actually teach the future generation to learn from a very small age about the bad sides of wastage and grow a concerned new generation. However, I would still disagree that implying a law is the best way to solve the problem in quesion. Because, there are other ways like raising public opinion and teaching about recycling wastage to fight this problem.

In conclusion, although a law is effective in some ways, wastage problem actually need the public awareness to solve the problem effectively. As long as some measurements are performed and some areas are involved, this claim will held true.