The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes here that restricting the number of mopeds rented by moped rental companies by 50 percent can reduce the number accidents by 50 percent. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention some key factors, on the basis of which it could have been evaluated. To support his claim he reasons that Seaville, a neighboring island, had achieved the same percent of success by implying the same rule. However, careful scrutiny of other evidences would prove that there is little credible support for author's claim. Hence, the argument fails to convice reader about the result it predictrs.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that, Seaville and Balmer island would produce the same result for the same restriction. This is merely just an assumption without much solid ground. For example, there could be a town with vast number of rats where some particular poison can work to minimize the number of rats where in other town the poison may not work for the rats because of the altitude and location factor attributing to the poison. Hence, a solution working for a particular place does not necessarily will produce the same result for another place.

Again, the author points out to the face that, the rule hinders the companies to rent more than 25 moped per day to reduce the number of accidents in half. But what if the number of compnaies gets doubled? The number of moped will still be the same. So, it doesn't lend sufficient support to draw a clear correlation among the number of moped and number of accidents. As a result, the arguments is not convincing to the read.

The conclusion here raises some questions that need to be answered. Can't people rent mopeds personally? Are the drivers of mopeds tained enough? Are the road signals in effect? Do the the traffic police do their job with responsibility?

Personal reantal can increase the number of mopeds, but does that actually increase the number of accidents? Without answering there questions, the reader is left with the assumption that this just some wishful thinking by the author.

In conclusion, it can be said that author fails to provide credible support to his argument and fails to convince the reader about the conclusion he predicted.