The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims here that, weather and local news are the main attraction to the local viewers and businessmen of a television station as reduction of the weather and local news reduced revenue from the local businessmen and increased the rate of complaints from local viewers. Stated in this way, the argument fails to point out some important factors, on the basis of which it could have been evaluated. To support his claim, the autor reason that as the complaints increased and advertisements decreased after reduction of weather and local news, restoring those news to preceding forms wil restore the revenue and decrease the complaints. However, careful scrutiny of evidence would tell us that there is little credible support to author's claim. Hence, the argument can be considered as incomplete and unsustainable.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that, the complaints are about reduction of local news. This is merely just an assumption without much solid ground. For example, the complaints can be of wrong weather report or of some wrong local news. Surely they reduced the amount of loacal news, but that may not be the concern of the loals. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitely stated that, tehy complained about the length of the local news.

Again, the author points out the fact that, local business have canceled contract because of the reduction of local news. This is another weak and unsupported claim that does not demonstrate any clear correlation among waether news and business advertisement. To illustrate, there can be other channels that are telecasting some shows which attarct more people and the business are just started ti contarct with them. Hence, the evidence fails to prove any support for author's claim.

Finally, the claim raises some skeptical questions that needed to be answered. Are the new news were attarctive? Are the previous contarcts with the television station were problematic to the business? Are there other shows that draw more viewers?

Without answering these questions, the reader is left with feeling that the argument is just a wishful thing of the author rather that substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bloster further, the author must have concluded with some statistics to solidify his claim of assumed cause and effect.