'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The business manager argues that over the past year revenues have decreased due to a change in content coverage. This idea is plausible, however, the argument is rife with several assumptions. If the station is to be successful in increasing revenue, more information will be needed.

A large portion of this argument is built on the assumption that viewers have a problem with the change in news and weather coverage. This is backed by the many complaints they have received. However, knowing exactly what these complaints were is pivotal to the entire discussion. Viewers may indeed be unhappy about the change in coverage time. Having a more descriptive and objective measurement of relative data would be very persuasive towards reverting back to the stations old methodologies. yet, what if the complaints were about news anchors? What if viewers didn't want local news or weather covered at all? And the memorandum states that there were only complaints. Did the station actually have a significant amount of viewer loss? And if so, are these the ones writing the complaints? with the information provided, we simply do not know. Without more detail, suggesting that viewers are leaving and want the return of old coverage is an unlikely stretch.

Building on this assumption is the idea that local businesses have canceled ads specifically because of the change in content. In evaluating the argument, it would be beneficial to know exactly why these businesses ended their contracts. Are the businesses still functioning? Perhaps these local businesses are no longer open. Or maybe the economy has taken a dive and regardless of televised content, local businesses just cannot afford to pay for ads. It is true that local businesses may be unhappy with the decreasing popularity of the channel and displeased with the change on content coverage. Logically, with decreasing views, fewer individuals would view their company ads. This claim lacks sufficient evidence, and suggesting a direct link between content change and revenue assumes too much. Again, in order to be more successful, the argument requires more information.

In conclusion, it is easy to understand the assumed link that the alteration in televised content to the change in revenue. However, in order to strongly suggest that changing back to the old coverage method will prevent further loss, it is clear that more objective data should be provided.