A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author states that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. This is based on the premise that children in Himalayan region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay as compared to children in the United states. At first this explanation may sound logical and true. But there are several other scenario in which the given explanations can be viewed.

Firstly, the authors says that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in nepal have lower level of tooth decay as compared to children in United States. There can be a possibility - like the children in nepal had recently visited dental care and children of United States had not visited. So it may have happen that less number of tooth decay problems have reported in United States than Nepal. There is no evidence given about the health or any medical history of dental checkup before testing the children. If the point stated is True that it rivals the argument given by the author.

Secondly, the author says that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care. It may happen that due to less visiting of the dental clinic the number of people reported tooth decay is less as compared to the children in United States. For example, Children in United states csn visit the dental clinic for a regular checkup also, and due to this regular visit there are high chances to find a patient with tooth decay. As in nepal children visit very few times to the dental clinic, there can be a possibility that a child may be having a tooth decay but he has not visited the clinic so that data is not recorded.

In conclusion, now the above explanations given by the authors are flawed and not interpreted properly as there can be an alternative explanation also like - 1) There is not sufficient data about the children who recently had tooth decay cured and then taken into survey, 2) Children visiting dental clinic does not necessary mean he has a tooth decay , it can be a regular check also. It can also be viewed as people not visiting a clinic and having a tooth decay are not recorded in the survey.