A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument states that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. To corroborate its claim the argument states it based on a recent study which indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care , while people in suburban areas in United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per week. The argument is unconvincing and polemical since it ignores alternate explanation which can possibly explain the situation presented in above argument.

The given argument has failed to consider alternate explanation of the situation mentioned above that is the variation in the food culture of Himalayan mountain region in Nepal and suburban areas in United States. This variation in the food culture of both region has different effects on the bodies of people living in both culture for example, it might be possible that food of suburban region in United States affect teeth more than the food of Himalayan mountain region in Nepal like candy which is more eaten in the United States than in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal results in tooth decay if eaten more. Therefore, variation in the food culture might be the reason as to greater number of tooth decay in United states.

Another explanation ignored by above statement is the difference of living lifestyle of people living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal and in suburban areas in the United States. Tooth Products used by the people in both region is also the main reason of variation in the number of tooth decay in both the region for example it might be possible that people in living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal use natural tooth products for cleaning the teeth while people in suburban areas in the United States use artificial products for cleaning the teeth which might not be as effective as the natural product used by people living in Himalayan region of Nepal. Thus variation in living lifestyle of people living in both region might be responsible as United States have more tooth decay.

Alternately, it can be argued that study presented in above argument might not be enough to corroborate the claim that children living in suburban areas in the United States have more tooth decay than children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal. Parameters used in the above mentioned study is not explained by the argument, failing to do so belies its claim. Parameters include sample size of children taken in the study, duration for which above study is done et cetera. Failing to provide such parameters invalidates the claim done in above argument.

The argument given above could have greatly enhanced if perusal of its underlying assumption had taken place. By failing to acknowledge the alternative explanation that can help the explain the situation mentioned in above argument is open to charge of hasty conclusion. The given explanation must be viewed in the light of these alternate explanation for the comprehensive analysis of the situation mentioned in above argument.