"In a recent study more than 5,000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Furthermore, according to the same survey, teens who reported having the most family meals per week were also the ones least likely to have tried illegal drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. Family meals were also associated with lower rates of problems such as low grades in school, low self-esteem, and depression. We therefore recommend that families have as many meals together as possible. We predict that doing so will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviors."

The author recommends that families have as many meals together as possible, and he predicts that doing so will benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviours. To support the conclusion, he cites various evidences. Although these evidences appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. Hence, in order to have the predicted result, the author needs to cite the following specific evidences.

First of all, the author's statistics are vague. Suppose the statistics were a little bit higher than five thousand. Then the author's presumption becomes these statistics represent the adolescent of the society as a whole. It is possible that in a group of other adolescent society, the condition is very different. For example, analysing the data of just six thousand, we cannot say that the situation is the same as a whole. So the recommendation based on this assumption doesn't hold water.

Second of all, the author has not provided the name of a particular place where the survey of adolescents were conducted. Perhaps the study was conducted in a city. Even if the survey was conducted in a total adolescent's population of the city, it is possible that the situation in even in a nearby villige is very distinct. For example, it is not necessarily same situation of adolescents in California as in nearby villages. Hence, the author's evidence is unwarranted.

Thirdly, the author assumes that family meals plays an important role in adolescent's academic grades, self esteem, and mental health as well. However, he has not cited any scientific evidences to support this statement. Possibly, this is just a author's viewpoint. Perhaps the family meals were not associated with these factores. In such case the author's prediction fails.

Hence, in conclusion, without these specific evidences, I cannot agree with the author's prediction of family meals will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviours.