"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Here, the company's vice president cites that they eschew use of the Endure manufacturing process. To support his claim, he also cites that many customers who buy their socks, change socks after every three months. Hence, he bolster his claim by saying that the Endure manufacturing process which produces highly durable socks can be used till two years, is not helpful for their company's economy. Although, this kind of advantages, the vice president's claim made many assumptions and did not provide proper numerical data. Therefore, I refute this claim.

Initially, the author made very big assumption that the sample of people whom he choose for test, can be considered as a representative of their overall customers. If we say that this assumption is true, though it lacks in numerical data. We can understand this point of view by one simple example that there are 51 percent people who change his socks after three months, still, there are 49 percent of people who use their socks more than three months. So, we can't estimate exact number customers who change their socks after 3 months. To bolster his claim, the author reconcile his argument with numerical data of the people whom they use as sample.

Secondly, the author says that the Endure manufacturing process is costly and they can save money by replacing this process, though, he had not given information about new process. The new process-they will use in the place of the Endure process- has lower cost than Endure process. Is this new process is enough cheap that it produces socks for three month and can be used without any problem I just want to say that this new process might produces socks which are rarely used more than 1 month. At the end, the cost of socks to customers is increase for three months. Hence, the author should give information regarding new process.

At the end, he has not given the numerical data that how many profit they are going to get due to this modification? Is this profit is more than the old process? How one can ignore the process durability? The author would give information about relation between avoiding the Endure process and profit.

In conclusion, I just want to tell that the author made claim without giving information about new process, making assumptions and not providing relative numerical data. Due to this all loopholes, one can easily disprove this argument. If the author really wants to make a strong arguments, he should remove this loopholes from the claim.