"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average

number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the

executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose

executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and

faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people

who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

In the argument the author made the conclusion that companies should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night to get higher profit margins. However, the author based on some unsustantiable assumptions, such as 300 male and female can represent the whole group of executives, sleeping less than 6 hours causes the high profit margins and faster growth and only people who sleep time is short can help a company success. If all of these assumption cannot be proved, I would not think this argument is reasonable.

First, in the article the author falsely rely on the study data that 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives sleep per night lead the success of their firms. However, perhaps the 300 people cannot represent the whole group of advertising executives and most excellent executives need more than 6 hours sleep. Or perhaps the average number of hours they sleepy cannot reflect the state of their sleep condition, because there may be few people sleep only 2 hours per night which may low the level of average sleep time.

In addition, to support the conclusion the author made the assumption that the profits and fast growth of advertising firms is caused by executives with less than 6 hours sleep time. The author makes a reverse logical relationship. It is totally possible that a company which are in fast growth stage, having onerous work, needs employees to work until midnight to finish their task and thus make higher profits. Perhaps it is profitable companies that are able to provide good salary and pay huge money for overwork, therefore, to earn more money, the employees choose to pay more time on work and cut sleep time.

To further make the conclusion, the author based on an assumption that only company with employees whose sleep time are less than 6 hours can make success. The author ignored that there are many ways to lead a company to become successful. It is totally possible that a firm with good policy and considerable management can achive its goals. It is also possible that companies hiring people with higher educational degrees can make their bussiness grow fast.

In conclusion, to make the argument more reasonable, the author needs to prove the assumption that a study only cover 300 people can represent the whole group of employee. Besides, the author should makes clear that it is people with less sleep time lead the firms to success and provide more evidence to support the assumption that only people with less sleep time can help a company become better.