"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertisin

The author of the prompt has observed that an experiment involving three hundred executives from Mentian advertising companies demonstrated that those requiring less than six hours of sleep were associated with more successful firms. Based on this observation, the author has argued that companies should only hire people who require less than six hours of sleep, in order to have greater margins. In assessing the author's argument, my view is that that the author has relied on unwarranted assumptions and have failed to take into important factors in constructing his or her argument. This essays attempts to highlight these concerns.

In the first place, the author seems to assume that an experiment involving a mere three hundred executives of similar background is enough to conclude that successful firms need to hire people who only take up six hours of sleep. For one thing, the experiment only dealt with executives and not with staffs or other types of employees, for whom the author's observation may not be valid. We also see that the people in the experiment were not randomly selected in that it only included Mentian advertising executives and not executives from other types of firms. Overall, the experiment cannot give us a general conclusion as it is limited in scope, increasing the chances that the observations are simply specific in nature or completely coincidental.

In addition, the experiment also does not prove that employees sleeping less is the cause of firms becoming successful. Indeed, it could be that people who are hardworking perhaps are less interested in sleeping or do not have the time to sleep simply because of their workload. But this does not mean that a person who sleeps less that six hours will necessarily work harder. In other words, a person can sleep less but still do not have the urge to work, whereas a person can sleep quite a bit but still have the determination to work hard. Work determination, and not the amount of hours spent sleeping, is thus what is at stake here and it behooves the author to find out whether the individuals in the experiment sleeping less than six hours were simply more enthusiastic about working.

Nevertheless, even if we are to assume that sleeping less than six hours is beneficial for companies, it does not necessitate that a company should hire people solely on this basis. Indeed, other factors such as work experience and integrity needs to be taken into account; these factors may be more important in the long run rather than whether an employee is hard working.

Overall, given the concerns that have been stated in this essay, we cannot simply adopt the author's recommendations unless the aforementioned flaws in the author's argument are resolved.