A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called Isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

The author of this argument propose to increase the consumption of soy among North Americans in order to develope resistance against chronic fatigue and depression. The author have naively reached to the conclusion and there may be hidden factors affecting the population in North America.

Citing the study, the author reports more susceptibility of people in North America to fatigue and depression than people in Asia. However, the validity and scope of the study is ambiguous. For example, number of people on which the study has been done? what were the main criteria and symptoms on which the study has been done? Was the study has been conducted by certified officials? We just do not know. Unless the study is fully representative and viable author can not shield the argument on its basis.

Moving on to the point, photochemical present in soy which contains disease-preventing properties. However, disease is a wider word and do not contain only chronic fatigue and depression. Moreover, fatigue and depression are results of high profile life and are caused by hectic work environment. The weather, working conditions and lifestyle in Asia and North America are very different from each other. Therefore, it is very important to analyse all the factors affecting fatigue and depression rather than directly concluding the consuption of soy will have a positive effect.

According to the author, soy foods contain a chemical called Isoflavones, which have disease preventing properties. However, there is no study, which reveals that it is relevant for all types of diseases. Hence, a research has to be done to establish that the drugs used to treat these two diseases contain Isoflavones. However, it is a known fact that soy foods are good for human health as soy foods contain many nutrients required for the human body. Again, there is no solid evidence that eating soy foods on a regular basis is a solution for chronic fatigue and depression. The author has not even mentioned about any side effects of Isoflavones. Hence, the suggestion to take soy foods daily, without any detailed study about soy food, does not hold any ground.

Hence, it can be said that one should take soy foods for overall health. It is a possibility that soy foods can be helpful in treating or preventing some diseases, which further have chronic fatigue or depression as its symptoms. That way one can link these two diseases with Isoflavones. However, there is no direct relation between soy proteins and chronic fatigue and depression; it is not justified in the given argument. The author should have provided a few proofs and data to establish this relationship.