"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

The author concludes that either the customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine". In order to support his conclusion, he has cited various pieces of evidence. Although these pieces of evidence appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. Hence, in order to make the argument more sound, an author need to address the following specific evidence.

First and foremost, the author is presenting that only two percent of customers have complained. Perhaps, this might not be the case, for example, when I go to the restaurant, even if I find the restaurant not good at food and quality, I simply don't complain. Whatever, at last, I say thank you for your wonderful service and food. This may be the case, the data that shows only two percent of people have complained may not ensure that only two percent of the customers were unhappy. Perhaps, there was more than fifty percent of unhappy people but they simply didn't express it. If the case is this, then the conclusion formulated based on this evidence might go unwarranted.

Second of all, the author is using the words many servers, how much this means? It is quite vague. Many simply mean more than two, the author has not provided the statistics required. There might be almost all servers have reported or just three of them have reported, these both case might be there. Perhaps there were hundreds of servers and just three out of them have reported that several customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. In this case, the author's conclusion base on the evidence doesn't hold water.

Third of all, the author has not presented the statistical data of the number of customers visited after and before the change. Perhaps, the number of customers is decreasing knowing the use of margarine, perhaps they knew it and quit their habit to-go restaurant. If this is the case, then the author's conclusion might not be logical.

In sum, if the author has presented specific evidences such as statistical data of the servers the number of customers before and after the change, this argument might be more persuasive. The conclusion made by the author based on his pieces of evidence, I find this argument is not persuasive.