A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument attempts to bridge a relationship between the higher commercial use of salicylates and decrease in average number of headaches. The conclusion is based on the premises of a recently issued 20 years study on residents of Mentia. However on deeper analysis, there are certain important questions unanswered and facts unnoticed, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is that, the scope and validity of the study is not clear. The questions regarding the number of participants in the study, the type of experiments done to find out the therapeutic effect of salicylates are not answered. Who knows, may be the study was funded by the salicylates businessperson, to boost up their selling. So, without answering the background of the study and the type of experiment that has been done to find out the effect, the study can not reach to a conclusion like that with certainty.

Additionally, the report says that there are a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salcylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants, but that statement does not specify any strong positive or negative correlation between them. As, before eating, we clean our food by water, that is how, most of the preservative can be washed away and as well as salicylates used in preserving food may not enter the body. Again, the people examined can get salicylates/aspirin from some other sources rather than food preservatives. There are strong possibility that the people were taking aspirin or other chemical of the same family as they were suffering from headache. So, ignoring the above facts and assuming that decline in headache is caused by salicylates in food preservatives, seriously undermines the conclusion of the argument.

Similarly, the assumption that the food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so is not backed up by any strong evidence. Maybe salicylates can be used as flavor additives but we do not know whether the existing flavor additives is more or less costly than salicylates. If existing additives are less costly, than why should the companies invest extra money to get the same function from an alternatives?. So, that question of viability of salicylates as a replacement has not been answered, which makes the argument further unstable.

So, to conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions. The report must have presented more concrete evidence to substantiate the claim and to make the argument more cogent.