A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

The above prompt, discuss the study about the headaches suffered by the residents of the Mentia and also investigates the effect of salicylates and how it will play in the twenty-year-old study. The author explains how salicylates, an element known to play an effective role in drugs like aspirin -- now started to be employed in the field of food-processing. The author believes that the adaption of salicylates in the food-processing industry will improve the condition of the residents of Mentia which is also backed up with different predictions made by a few health experts. That being said, in order to evaluate these assumptions the following three concerns must be addressed.

First of all, Though the author mentions vaguely about the two-year-old research study, he or she fails to back this up with enough evidence to assume its reliability. The duration of the study does not imply how efficient it is. The author fails to provide more specific insights on how this study came to the conclusion that salicylates could provide a solution to the headache condition of the Matias. Without the proper numbers and evidence, this assumption clearly weakens the author's conclusion.

Secondly, Even if the “twenty-year-old study” evaluated to be sufficient. The adaption of salicylates in food processing companies is still in their embryonic stage. For something as serious as salicylates, to make it compatible with the existing system will surely require a lot of resources, chemical engineers support and not to forget time. To consider this assumption could make the situation of Mentia -- does not hold water.

Finally, About the predictions of the “Health Experts” do not provide us with any details on how they came to this conclusion. Apart from all this, this argument still leaves us with many unanswered questions like the credibility of these experts, the data of the study, if the participants had any medical previous records related to headaches and any details on the side effects of salicylates.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, considerably flawed due to its several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide the three pieces of evidence stated above and perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it will be possible to determine if salicylates provide a better solution for the residents of Mentia.