A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the summary tries to covey that salicylates, which are members of the chemical family of aspirin, have been used for food processing in past several decades, and since the rise of use of these compounds in food as presevatives has correlated with reduced headaches reported, further inclusion of salicylates as food flavor additives would result in further number of headaches suffered by average citizens of mentia. this argument is seemingly wellposed. The author tries to match the decline of headaches to the increased use of salicylates using seemingly plausible facts and assumptions. However this argument is rife with holes and ambiguities. The critical analyst of this argument would find that the implicit assumptions that are used in the argument need some support from relevent evidence. Thecritical analyst would point and demand for specific evidence that would shed more light on the argument of at hand, which would enable more comprehensive and accurate evaluation of the argument and the final conclusion.

The author says that the average number of headaches reported have resuced in the time period of study. Though it seems it suggest actual reduction in cases of headaches in mentia, it may not be true. For example, with the time progress, people may not depend on hospitals or doctors dor mild ailments like headaches anymore. they may take the medicines by themselves, as the know how on the medicince among the genral public is increased. In such a case, "reporting" of headaches canbe reduced, without the actual headaches cases staying the same, or worese-increasing. thus more evidence with regard to the actual cases of headaches in mentia is needed. The actual headache number being high may bolster the argument of the author, while the opposite heavily undermining it.

The author in the argument carries the underlying assumption that the more the people of mentia exposed to of conume of salicylates chemical, the more they would be free of headache. this argument have serious ambiguities. For example, it is a well known medical fact that over exposure to or consumption of a chemical as an antidote, reduce its impact on the patients over the time. that is, the over use of a chemical may result in that chemical not soing the intended curing. this may very well be true with salicylates. In such case, further use of salicylates may reduce the effectiveness of salicylates in curing headaches as the author suggest, and hence will not result in further reduction of headaches. thus evidence should be demanded on the behaviour of salicylates in the case of long term consumption. if such evidence suggest long term exposure reduces it's effectiveness, it would undermine the argument of the author, along with the conclusion.

The author also seems to have the assumption that the form in which salicylates is consumed does not have any differed operation. this is evident from the way the author suggesting that using salicylates as an falvor additive would result in the same way that it resulted in as a presercative. this may not defintive. it would be interesting to see some confirmation and calrification of the similarity of performance of salicylates with respective to its ability of combating headache, as these two types of food ingredients. if these investigations show that salicylates in these two different forms perform differently with respect to ints curing ability, the argument and the conclusion of the author would be seriously undermined.

The argument presented in the summary is rife with ambiguities. evidence demanded above would shed some light to the ambiguities and help clarify the argument.