A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Here, the author conclude that because of the use of salicylates in everyday life in one or another form by food products, health experts assume that it leads to fewer incidence of headache sufferer in future. The author also supports his or her assumption by providing some studies. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, few questions must be answered.

Firstly, the writer contends that due to the therapeutic effect of salicylate, numbers of headache decreases. However,it is full of loopholes. What if there are other contributing factors which is responsible for lessen headache? What if there is another member of same chemical family which is responsible for this but scientist still not able to find it? So, one should know the exact phenomenon regarding this. Moreover, their is also possibility that people are more concern about their health today than the past? They may practice healthy habits such as, regular exercise, healthy food, yoga, etc. Owing to this good habits one can able to relieve their problems related to physical as well as mental problems. Therefor the author should not relied upon one aspect to conclude any point.

secondly, based on study of the correlation between the rise in consumption of salicylates and decrease in average of headache sufferes result, the author suggest that decline in headache cases is due to commercial use of salicylate. But here the author only assumes over study which is of very long time(twenty years). Now twenty years is very long time. the author does not explain about its authenticity. It is possible that during this time some of the people are left or decline to participated in it. It may be possible that study also include this individuals who left the study. So this is questioning the authenticity of the study on which the author's claim is depended. If this is the case then the argument above does not hold the water.

In conclusion the argument as it stands now, is considering flawed and to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer above questions and offer more reliable evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the argument.