A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processig companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author's assumption is about a 20-year study which indeed explicates the rise of commercial use of salicylates, there was a steady decline in the average number of headaches which were reported by participants. Furthermore, when the study was concluded, the food-processing companies discovered that the salicylates could be used as flavour additives for food and many companies plan to do so. Moreover, some health experts believe that the residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in the future. However, before this recommendation can be properly be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are all the participants subjected to headache? Even if they did, are all of them consumed salicylates from commercial products?

In other words, it can be argued that some of the participants might have been treated naturally. Further, it can be also argued that this chemical(salicylate) can be found naturally in numerous food products. For example, salicylate can be found in fruits like cherries, cranberries, oranges, tangerines etc. These can also be found in vegetables, meat, nuts, dry fruits and regular intake of water. If all of them were certainly considered in one's daily diet, then it can be concluded that the assumption is false. Besides, regular exercise may also help to get relieved from headache. Exercises like yoga and meditation which helps to control the mind and body. If some of the participants exercised regularly then we can negate the author's assumption.

Secondly, are all of them were free from salicylate intolerance? The author states that the participants have completely relied on commercial products which contain salicylates like aspirins and medicine. What if some of the participants had salicylate sensitivity and they naturally cured their headache without any consumption of these medicines. Because medicines like aspirin have a high amount of salicylates approximately 325-650mg, and this could lead to having side effects on participants. Researchers believe that a person having asthma have high salicylate intolerance and if some of the participants had asthma then they are likely to avoid these products which have a very high amount of salicylate. This could also negate the assumption.

Third, is it possible for people with headache likely to rely on flavour additives or having them in their daily consumption of life? Well, just to get rid of a headache, people will certainly not buy food colouring for their treatment and it not possible for them to have it on daily life. Because food additives have some risk associated with it, like hypersensitivity, abdominal pain, diarrhoea and many more. This could be lethal for human beings on to their daily consumption.

At last, health experts assume that in future residents of Mentia will have a fewer headache. It can be refuted because a headache is inevitable if there is a daily consumption of alcohol, or due to lack of sleep. Even due to stress and consumption of processed meat can likely to get a headache. This can negate the experts' assumption.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumption. If author can answer above all three questions and offer more evidence, then it is possible to evalutate the viability of the proposed recommendation to have salicylate in food.