To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving th

In this argument, the manager of WWAC radio stations suggests that they need to change to a news and talk format. In supporting his conclusion, he listed a few reasons: a decline of listeners in the current rock-music format, an increase in the number of retired residents, and a seemingly limited interest in music from the general public. While his argument sounds convincible at first glance, it is based on a series of holes and logic flaws, and thus fails to be wholly persuasive as it stands. More evidence is needed in order to strength the argument.

First of all, the manager draws a cause and effect conclusion that because there is a population growth of elderly listeners, the radio station's rock-music listeners have declined. However, it is unsafe to assume without substantiation that the elderly listeners were truly the reason for the decline. Without evidence, it is possible that the elderly listeners were interested in rock-music and the decline is due to some other reasons such as the emerging of a more competitive rock-music station from another company.

Secondly, the author states that there is a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music, which suggests limited interest in music. While it could be the reason, there are also many other possibilities. One of the most common explanations is that people prefer to download music online now and thus not as interested in buying them in store. Or perhaps the store is facing some management and advertising issues, which impaired their sales.

Finally, even if the above assumptions that the author made proves to be true, the author did not illustrate how and why a news and talk format will attract more listeners. The only reason provided is that it is "increasingly popular in the area". However, without enough evidence, it is unsafe to adopt the suggestion. The author will need to provide evidence to demonstrate that the current residents will be interested in a news and format radio, that the WWAC station will outperform other competitors, and the number of new listeners that they will attract will surpass the number of listeners they lose.

To sum up, the manager’s suggestion is based on a series of unwarranted assumptions. And without a sufficient amount of evidence to back up his suggestion, it would be unlikely to persuade the WWAC company to allocate funds to invest in a talk and news program. To strengthen his argument, he will need to provide compelling evidence such as a reliable survey results to show that the residents of this area are more interested in listening to a news and talk program as compare to a rock-music program. He will also need to come up with a detailed plan on how they will organize and construct the new program so that it will outdo their competitors.