Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

It is no doubts that with the recent integration of salicylates in modern medicinology for reducing headaches has been a great achievement. However, the debate presented by the author in integrating salicylates in food to reduce headaches is not satisfactory. Rather, some arguments lack proper coherence and seem unconvincable. It is completely natural that the food-processing want to enhance their product and this would make an eye-catching advertisement, but the argument seem too fragile to properly merit the situation.

At first the author assumes that salicylates are compatible with all sorts of food for their quality of preserving that food. The author mistakes to address the fact that not all may be compatible with salicylates. It may backfire in some cases, while on the other the taste and quality may not remain the same. There are different types of preservatives in the market and they are used in different manner. We do not pickle everything, and even after pickling a certain food the taste turns different which may not be appealing to a wide variety of people.

Moreover, the report that has been stated by the author may not have accounted for the other ingredients that have been present in those foods which have somehow influenced the reduction of headaches. There are many other nutrients and ingredients that play a role in maintaining a good physical and mental health. It cannot be concluded right away that salicylates may be the only food ingredient that can reduce the headaches.

Finally, the author points out that with increased use of of salicylates can reduce the number of headaches signifanctly in average. However, headaches can be caused by multiple factors. Even if we can agree to the fact that salicylates goes properly with the food and the consumer likes the taste, it still does not ensure that this is the ultimate cure for the headaches. Different diseases like migrane and insomnias can cause headaches, and that may not be cured by eating foods abundant with salicylates. Thus, it cannot be properly ensured that adding salicylates to foods will reduce headaches.

It is clear that salicylates definetly has some potential as a preservative and even curing headaches to some extent. Some food-processing companies might thus, take the step and add salicylates in their foods. However, the author’s argument is rife with fallacies that do not make a proper case for adding salicylates in foods.