Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In the last Indian general elections, there was a strong wave of anti-incumbency which replaced the Indian National Congress from power. One of the reasons behind the public angst was the increasing number of scandals against the ruling party. Scandals focus our attention to the problems, but they are not useful because the goal should be to nip the problems in the bud. The problems need to be addressed diligently and seriously when they first show up, so that there is no use of scandals. Also as the old adage goes "Prevention is better than a cure".

In a government, scandals engender doubt and public anger. Democracy is known for stability and trust of the people on the government, and when the elective representatives are involved in egregious acts undiscovered by scandals it damages the image of the government and people involved in politics. Increasing mistrust among the public removes their confidence from the electoral system. When one sees the government as ineffective, they become indifferent to the day to day activities of it, and an aloofness takes over which prevents them from raising their voices against the wrongdoings of the government.

Scandals also scare people from living a public life, they make it difficult to live. Scandalous events judge people before the law, and sometimes innocent people have to suffer and their careers, life, relationships are ruined. Scandals are a source of great revenue for the news channels and they try to add a lot of spice in any news related to the scandals. Scandals can provide distorted information, twisted stories, and exaggerated claims. They have destroyed many lives, careers, and health of people.

Scandals can bring fore trivial issues and divert attention from important problems. There have been cases in India where viral youtube videos have got more attention than a famine where hundreds of people were suffering. When the veil is lifted from a scandalous event, everyone related to them are in a damage control mode which can exacerbate the problem. The knee jerk reactions of the government, any laws or rules passed in a hurry to appease the infuriated public can have adverse effect in the long run.

Though sometimes scandals unearth severe social, political or financial issues, a channel is required to address. If the legal framework and policies are weak then any issues highlighted by the scandals will not be of any use. People forget these scandals and they dont reach to any conclusion.

Scandals help in exposing the underlying issues and problems, but we should not rely and wait for a scandal. It is said that prevention is better than cure, so we should try to prevent the problems from developing and nip them in the bud. There are effective ways of dealing with problems and issues without allowing them to grow and the wait for scandals to highlight them