To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument asserts that due to the growth of student enrollment in Buckingham College, new dormitories are needed to accommodate more students. The argument makes a logical sense at first glance, however, there are some specific evidence required to justify its suggestion; otherwise it seems to be specious.

To begin with, the argument mentions that the student enrollment is growing and it will double over the next 50 years. Therefore, new dormitories are necessary. However, a specific evidence is needed to better assess its suggestion. That is, if the growing enrollment is a stable trend or it is just an anomaly happened in recent years. If student enrollment starts to decline, the construction of new dormitories is superfluous and meaningless. Generally, such investment is expensive and time-consuming; therefore, it undoubtedly burdens college’s financial situation. Thus, with the lack of evidence indicating stable student enrollment growth, the argument is fallacious.

Secondly, the argument avers that the off-campus housing is costly and it may be more attractive for prospective student if the college provides a cheaper option. However, the argument fails to consider the cost of constructing new dormitories. The college needs extra spaces for construction as well as hires professional company and purchases new equipment. None of these is simple and easy, the cost may exceed what the college has expected. Moreover, we cannot guarantee that students will choose Buckingham College because of its new dormitories. Usually, students choose schools based on their specialties instead of the housing fee. Therefore, without evidence confounding that how college is going to handle the financial issue and feasibility of attracting new students, the argument is unwarranted.

Finally, it is reasonable to build more dormitories to attract students. However, there are some specific evidence needed to better asses the argument, that is: if the student enrollment growth is stable, if the cost of the investment can be balanced and it can surely attract prospective students.