The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that since the more concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap is reportedly more efficiency than its counterpart, the normal liquid hand soap, which is currently used in hospitals. Therefore, it suggests to replace every original hand soap with the better one. The argument makes a logical sense at first glance, however, there are some specific evidences needed to be provided in order to warrantee its suggestions. Otherwise the argument is spurious.

First off all, the argument cites a report regarding to a harmful bacteria reduction contributed by UltraClean hand soap. However, a specific evidence is needed to justify the report. That is, the actual amount of eliminated harmful bacteria. The number of percentage seems to be ambiguous. If there are one million bacteria in a given scope, then the 40 percent reduction can be considerable; on the contrary, if there are half a million in a given scope, the reduction does not appear as significant as former does. Consequently, the evidence related to the actual number of harmful bacteria eliminated with UltraClean hand soap is indispensable; otherwise, the argument is spurious.

Secondly, the argument avers that in recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection, which is reportedly about 20 percent. However, there are some evidence required in order to justify this assertion. Firstly, the test states that there is a 20 percent infection reduction among patients due to the use of UltraClean hand soap. However, there are other causes germane to such reduction. For example, a better health care policy, a well-designed diets and the improvement of medical vaccine. All of these can be the reason that result to the reduction of infection among patients. Moreover, the argument fails to provide the evidence indicating that every hospital in Worktown use UltraClean hand soap. Therefore, we cannot guarantee that, in the recent test, all hospital in Worktown use any related product to achieve reduction on infection among patients. Thus, without providing these evidence, the argument is fallacious.

Finally, the argument makes a logical sense. However, there are some specific evidence needed to warrantee its statement, that is: the actual amount of harmful bacteria wiped out with the hand soap, if all the hospital in the region has used the hand soap and if there are some other factors regarding to the reduction of infection among patients.