Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument suggests that due to the reports from local hunters and the effect that global warming has on ice, the deer population is declining since they are unable to follow age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea to for food. The argument seems reasonable at first glance, however, there are some specific evidences needed to better evaluate its suggestion. I shall explore in the following essay.

First of all, the argument collect reports from local hunters who believe that the deer population is declining. However, the reports require further examination and more evidences are indispensable. For example, how do local hunters evaluate the number of deer in a specific region? Have they counted every deer in every herd and mark them with a unique number? Also, how far have they reached in a specific region to find deer? Maybe deer can sense danger and they know hunters are coming; therefore, they may manage to escape from them and hunters cannot discover any deer. Consequently, local hunters may consider the population of deer decline since they hardly find one. Thus, without the evidences of how hunters justify their reports, the argument remains fallacious.

Secondly, the argument avers that the population decline coincides the global warming, which is blamed on melting excess ice and therefore, leaving limited habitat area for deer to search for food. However, there are some evidences needed to support this viewpoint. For example, has global warming melted so much ice at once that deer cannot live in these areas? The melting process is slowly and gradually. It doesn’t contribute significant changes overnight. Therefore, deer are possible live in areas where global warming is insidiously affecting. Moreover, the evidences indicating that global warming is affecting areas where deer mainly live in are critical. If the argument cannot provide details on how much ice global warming has melted and how much feeding areas of deer has been vanished, its suggestion is unwarranted.

Finally, the argument believes that deer can no longer follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea so they cannot travel to other places for food and breed the youth. It looks logical, but still, it fails to ensure that deer nowadays take the same route across the ocean. Over millions of years, terrain and climate must have changed dramatically. We cannot guarantee that the old-age route deer once take is the same as it is now. Unless evidences indicates that deer are taking the same route; otherwise the argument is weakened.

To sum up, there are some evidences needed to be included in order strengthen the argument. That is: evidences of hunters’ reports, the real effects that global warming has on deer and their areas as well as if deer take the same route as their ancestors did to travel.