Topic 6

Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author provides us with two pieces of information that, the arctic deer populations are declining and that the recent global warming trends have caused the sea ice to melt, which led to deers not being able to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen see, and thus resulting in the decline in their populations. however, the author supports his conclusion with assumptions that, if not substantiated, would weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the we are provided with the information about the eating habits of arctic deers and their preferable habitat locations. it was mentioned that they limit their habitat to areas warm enough to sustain the plants which they feed on, and once they are done, they move over ice from one island to another in search of food. however, we might want to know additional information about how long do the deers tend to stay on an island. if it is the case that, a particular island on which the deers on feeding on has relatively lesser vegetation or if the deers have consumed all the available plants of that island , they then decide to move on to the next island. But if it the case that, the time at which these deers set out their journey to another island also happens coincide with time of warmer season of the year, it is very much likely that there aren't yet enough ice covered areas available for the deers to travel, thus leading them to die out of starvation. if it is the case, then author's contention does not hold water.

Secondly, we are told that according to the reports from "local hunters" . we might want to make how precise are these reports considering that there weren't any data points or numbers clearly indicating the decline in the population of the arctic deers. it might not be proper to draw such broad conclusions without actually confirming the correct numbers of both the aforementioned reports. Even if it is the case that, the numbers of global warming reports are matching with the reports of the deer population, is it right to say that it is the global warming and melting of ice that has led to their decrease in number. it might be the case that, there was an increase in the activities of hunting down of these very deers by the local hunters for poaching and other illegal activities and are only trying to cover up by putting to blame the global warming.

Hence, more information is needed to evaluate this argument.