Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.Th

The argument states that pleasantville school board shoul institute a program requiring students of pleasentville high school to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.But the argument makes some stated and unstaed assumptions which need to be addressed before coming to the conclusion of promulgating the plan. The various assumptions made are listed below

The argument states that the number of teenager volunteers have declined over the years but has not presented with any empirical details about the decline.Before extrapolating the details of the decline any furthur decision can/t br made.Also the reason of the decline has not been mentioned anywhere in the argument.There msut have been some substantial reason for the decline. Unless the reason of the decline is studied, introducing new rules will not be helpful.

The argument never mentions the way of community service provided by the charity organisations.Maybe the services provided are out of scope of the teenagers and they are unable to perform it well.Also, the assistanship is required by the organised has been presented in the argument but the kind of assistanship , what the teenagers are expected to perform,whst will be there job has never been mentioned by the author , which considerably weakens the argument.

The plan is to complete 40 hours community service prior to graduation,but the author did not menytion how this time period was finalised . Did any other school set up this plan,was it helpful are important factors that need to be assessed before the final decison.The teenagers in high school would be planning to go to college may find it difficult to allocate 40 hours in his busy schedule.Was this factor considered has not been mentioned in the argument .

So,before any final decision is made the assumptions should be considered together with the argument to substantiate the plan, as the arguments sounds very weak if the assumptions are not taken into consideration.