“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.”

The petition says that Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develope the land that is now a part of the Yougtown Wildlife Preserve. It states that the sale of this land will not benefit but only harm the community. There are many assumptions that have not been answered in the petition and answers to which can have implications on the final decision or the result of this sale.

The petition says that the sanctuary is essential to the suvival of the 300 bird species living in the area. We assume that the birds cover whole of the area of the sanctaury , which may not be the case. If the birds live only in certain area. The rest areas can be developed by the corporation . Also ,there is an assumption that the sanctuary is the only place that is essential to the survival of the 300 birds. If there are other places nearby, if a part of the sanctuary is developed some of the birds may relocate to the nearby areas.

Another assumption is related to the relationship between percentage and number. The petition says that inly a small percentage of land will be taken up for developement .How much is a small percentage also matters. For some 1% could be called a small percentage and for some 50% could be a small percentage. For the Corporation this percentage is "more the merrier". Also how much and where is the area being developed. If it is a 4 acre sanctuary a small percentage will constitute a small land and it would more likely to be inhabitated by the birds , the preserve aims to save. If it is a 100acre sanctuary a small percentage will be a bigger area of land by the likelihood of being birds inhabitating reduces as the population density here decreases. Also irrespective of the amount of land, if the area to be developed is the part that is the home to most of the birds , the land should not got for developement.

It says that the hotel will have disasterous consequences for the sanctuary. This need not be true of made at sufficient distance from bird population. The petition says that the sale will not benefit the community at any cost because the community relies on the tourist who visit the sanctuary to see the magnificient bird population,This assumes that the community has no other means of livelihood and that the developement will decrease the glamour of magnificient bird population. If the area is developed it may engender a number of other jobs like-construction, jobs, schools etc. Thus, it may benefit the community. Also the developement is done properly and with planning it may result in no disturbance to the bird population.

Thus , we have to keep many assumptions and factors in mind before jumping to a conclusion. The developement may or may not disturb the bird population and the community survival depending how thorughly thought or planned the sale is made.