Studies show that, as we’ve become more technically advanced, our health has deteriorated rapidly. Heart disease, cancer, diabetes, and virtually every major ailment are far more common today than they were thirty years ago. The primary reason for this deterioration is the sedentary lifestyle associated with today’s high-tech jobs. Clearly, our health will continue to decline as long as we persist in our technological advances.

The author claims that our health will continue to decline as long as we persist in our technological advances but the argument is not well supported by the evidence.

Citing the studies the author says that as technology advanced, our health has deteriorated rapidly which is completely untrue. For example with the advancement in laser technology lasers are being used to break down stones in gall bladder. Lasers are also used for treatment of glaucoma. If technology is not advanced we wouldn’t have medicines to cure diseases. The experiment may have been conducted by taking into opinions of people who are aged and suffering with diseases which are not yet curable.

While heart disease, cancer are common now than thirty years ago advancement in technology has nothing to do with the increase. In fact it is with the advancement in technology patients suffering with diabetes, heart disease are getting proper treatment. By testing the sugar levels with modern equipment suitable amount of insulin is being given. Thirty years ago did we have proper equipment which is necessary for heart surgery. Today we can send camera to the site of surgery and can view the operation live on a television. Did we have Electrocardiogram to check the condition of patients heart thirty years ago?

The author’s assumption that health is being deteriorated because of lifestyle and with high tech jobs is not true. People working in high tech jobs are earning more now than 30 years ago and can afford the cost of treatment. With their increased incomes people are living in a clean & tidy environment without which they may be prone to diseases like malaria, dengue. Health condition generally deteriorates as ones age increases and need not be due to lifestyle.

The authors argument is not convincing because he/she committed analogy , statistical flaws.