SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live then Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The claim presented in the given argument states that the Supercorp believes that the Corporateville is much better place than the Middlesburg, just because there is recent surge in the number of homeowners in the Corporateville and a short survey by Corporateville states that the workers of the company prefer to live in non urban area such as Corporateville as compared to urban area such as Middlesburg. Stated in this way the author demonstrates several logical fallacies and the conclusion of the argument relies heavily on the baseless assumption, for which there is lack of proper evidencing; Hence the argument is weak and unconvincing. The major logical fallacies are detailed in the upcoming paragraph.

Firstly, the author assumes that if the number of homeowners are shifting to non urban area that is Corporateville from the urban area that is Middlesburg , that means the new place is superior is purely based on false assumption. There could not be only one factor in doing so, there are possible chances that the cost of land in Middlesburg would have increased which has led to shifting to new people to cheap which is much affordable. There are likely chances that the people have started giving priority to cost as compare to facilities and environment. But for a company the most suitable place to have headquarters is the most densely populated place through which they can have access to every humankind and every resource which won't be available in the non urban area or place. Therefore a proper research should have been done and every aspect of the company should have been watched out before taking such a big decision. Due to wrong decision whole company can go into vain.

Secondly, it is stated that that the workers prefer living in non urban area as compared to urban area but no such statistical figures are given like how many workers, What is the ratio ? It is possible that the only few of the workers have been surveyed or there are the chances of any personal bias in the workers before stating such statements. A proper survey including, workers,officers or other staff should have been done anad proper figures should have been diagnosed before taking such big steps.

At last, it is stated that the taxes in Corporateville is less than Middlesburg, so it makes cheaper for the company to work in, but again no proper evidence has been provided in the statement. At instance, it is possible that there are lack of proper resources for the company to operate or there are chances that the company has to take out extra money to get the resources into the city which we nullify all the cost cutting the company has done in taxes.

Concluding, there are several groundless assumptions which should be nullified and proper survey should be done before taking such extreme steps.Without the above defined evidence the argument continues to remain unsubstantial and open to debate.