The surface of a section of Route 101 paved two years ago by McAdam Road Builders is now badly cracked and marred by dangerous potholes In another part of the state a section of Route 66 paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago is still in

The author of this memo argues his or her preference on one paving company over the other one. It seems plausible; however, close scrutiny proves this argument weak with dubious evidence and reasonings.

First of all, acting as the vice president of the company that builds the shopping malls, there is no way to cleave off author's personal connections from the decision he or she makes. What if the author implies his or her own personal preference in choosing the company, namely the author has a mutually beneficial business agreement with Appian Roadways instead of Good Intentions Roadways? How can we know if Appian Roadways really outperforms Good Intentions Roadway or the author chooses to ignore the inverse? The potential bias makes the author's argument dubious.

Even though the author is clear from sneaky trading agreement or malfeasance with Appian Roadways, the reasonings he or she presents are hardly reliable. First of all, the author asserts than the Route 40 paved by Appian Roadways has a better performance in reliability than the Route 101 paved by Good Intentions Roadways. However, the author ignores the fact that the different weather conditions along both routes can cause disparated damages to the roads. Imagining that the Route 101 passes the area with a large variation in temperatures, for example,a city like Denver, where you can get 120F in the afternoon and 70F in the evening, whereas the weather affecting Route 40 is more stable and temperate. It is obvious that Route 101 will be damaged more severely compared to Route 40. As a result, there is no enough evidence to justify the paving results presented by these two companies, if one relies only on the damages on the roads without clearly analyze all possible factors.

Another unjustified reasoning the author presents is that new equipment and personnel do not lead to an increase in quality. Construct and paving the road around a shopping mall is different than paving a freeway. Without clarification, it is reasonable to assume that the new machine purchased by Appian Roadways might not be a good fit for paving works around the shopping mall, as one can premise with commonsense that the roads around shopping malls will be narrower compared to the freeway. Furthermore, the new-hired quality-control manager does not imply a definite burgeoning in quality. There is no way to guarantee a new employee, even with high salaries and compensations, will outperform than his colleagues. In fact, there is even no way to assure that this new employee will meet the requirements set by Appian Roadways in a short period of time, considering standards can be varied even within the same industry.

In a conclusion, the author fails to present persuasive evidence that is able to prove the outperformance of Appian Roadways to Good Intentions Roadways. More analysis in cost effectiveness, as well as in case study, need to be done before a business-like plan is finalized.