In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt argues that the government of Mason City should allocate more funds from its annual budget to riverside recreational facilities. This conclusion is reached based on the results from several surveys and the spate of residents’ complaints regarding the river’s smell and water quality. Notwithstanding the potential aesthetic and financial gains from implementing this recommendation, the prompt’s argument is flawed as it rests on three unproven assumptions. Should these assumptions not hold, the implications can be deleterious for the city and its residents.

Firstly, the prompt’s author assumes that the surveys are reliable indicators of how the city’s residents will behave should the river be cleaned. That is, it assumes people will engage in recreational water sports if this recommendation is implemented. However, several issues with these survey results must first be addressed. Firstly, it is possible that the people surveyed are not representative of Mason City’s residents. For instance, if only teenagers were surveyed, then it is not clear if these results would extend to the rest of the population. Furthermore, the prompt’s argument also depends upon the quantity of people surveyed. If only five were surveyed amongst potentially thousands or millions of residents, the surveys’ results are quite trivial. Finally, there is also the issue of the quality of the survey questions. If they were biased or limited in nature, this may have skewed the results to water sports. Given these various aspects to the author’s survey-related assumption, the argument does not hold water should this assumption not hold.

Secondly, the strength of the prompt’s arguments depends on its unstated assumption that people will make use of the river for water sports once it is cleaned. Yet, this may not necessarily hold true as several factors influence this outcome. For instance, it is possible that people do not have the financial resources or time to engage in such an activity. Additionally, the question of whether people want to do so arises. As has been widely found in studies, people do not carry out on the activities and disportments they cite in surveys. If there is any merit to such scenarios, the government’s funding for such recreational activities would be prodigal.

Finally, the argument also heavily depends on the assumption that the city government has enough funds to dedicate towards this venture. By adopting a utopic-like mindset the author has neglected the practical issues this government potentially faces. Perhaps, this government is struggling with its annual budget and cannot afford to dedicate funds to this cause. It is also plausible that other more pressing needs require funding (e.g. healthcare, unemployment, and crime). If the government is facing such dire and demanding conditions, it may not be a financially sage decision to invest in recreational activities. Indeed, it is likely the city’s residents would lambast its government officials should they do so.

In summary, as it stands now, the prompt’s argument is substantially flawed as it rests on three unwarranted assumptions. Given this, it would be an imprudent decision to implement the prompt’s recommendation. Yet, if the author can provide more evidence to delineate on the strength of these assumptions, then it will be possible to better assess the viability his/ her argument.