In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Considering the residents' preference for water sports reflected by surveys, and the little budget devoted to maintaining riverside recreational facilities, the author suggests the government devote more money to these facilities. This conclusion, though seems convincing at first glance, still needs to evaluate since some assumptions it is based on are now unproved.

To begin with, the author assumes that all the Mason City residents' favorite sports are water sports according to the surveys. Since the author failed to list the purview of these surveys, we can not affirm that this result reflects all citizens' preferences. If these surveys are made according to the answer of only a few people, many others maybe not be interested in water sports at all, and that might be the true reason why the Mason River is rarely used for water sports. In such a situation, devoting more money to riverside recreational facilities can be meaningless.

Assuming that citizens can only play water sports in riverside recreational facilities, the author believes the residents now have no place to play water and thus suggests the city park devote a budget. However, even most of the residents prefer water sports more than other sports, riverside recreational facilities might not be necessary for them. Without a certain amount of other water-playing facilities, such as swimming pools, we can not confidently ascertain this assumption. If evidence shows there are many other facilities in which citizens can do water sports, the better riverside recreational facilities may not attract more residents and thus the recommendation can be groundless then.

Moreover, the author mentions the plans to clean up Mason River. According to the complaints about the quality of the river's water and smell, the author simply assumes that such a noisome smell and bad water quality is the only reason why people are unwilling to play in the riverside recreational facilities. If so, then after cleaning up the river these facilities might become welcomed and thus should be strongly supported financially. However, the other reasons, for instance, the dangers of playing near the river, also influence the citizens. Besides, we do not know whether the plans will be done efficiently. If the river is still not a good place for residents to play water sports, then devoting more money to riverside recreational facilities can be a waste of budget.

In conclusion, although this argument is supported by some information and looks well-constructed because some assumptions it relies on are unevaluated now and can be unwarranted, the recommendation might be groundless.