In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The presented text concerns a writer who is a proponent advocating for an increase in government funding towards the riverside recreational facilities of Mason City. A river’s water quality as well as the safety and maintenance of its facilities play an important factor in a state or city’s property value. While the writer clearly presents their position on the matter, their argument as to why the government should increase their budget for recreational facilities along the Mason River is replete with logical holes and assumptions which ultimately undermine the argument’s cogency.

The writer opens their case with the claim of how Mason City residents who took a survey regarding their favorite recreational activities, ranked water sports among their top choices. While at a cursory glance, this may seem like strong evidence for increased funding of riverside recreational facilities, it falls short in the sense that there is the assumption that the residents who ranked water sports favorably are likely to participate in water sports themselves. Perhaps these residents merely enjoy watching water sports rather than actually partaking in them. The writer does not effectively establish the cause or a connection between ranking water sports highly on a survey and the probability of undertaking such an activity if given the opportunity.

Building further on the survey example, the writer’s argument makes the assumption that the conducted survey is valid. As readers, we do not know the scope and validity of the survey. For example, the survey could not be a holistic representation of the residents of Mason City but rather only the ones who live along the river, making the results tendentious. The survey could have been administered in the summer, again making the results skewed to favor water sports as a favorable recreational activity simply because people tend to enjoy cooling off in the water during the warmer months of the year. These unstated parameters of the survey only force the reader, and thus the government to question the validity of the survey. Only if the survey is representative of the entire population of Mason City, and administered in a fair unbiased fashion can it be an effective piece of evidence for the writer’s argument.

Additionally, the writer assumes that the reason for the river’s lack of use is due to the poor water quality. Furthermore, it is explicitly assumed that cleaning the water will result in an increase in the river’s use. While it may be true that decreased water quality may curb the occurrence of water-based recreational activities, it could also be true that the people of Mason City are genuinely not interested in using the water. Perhaps, and it is not illogical to assume, the reason for complaints is not that residents want to do water sports but rather that people do not wish to be subjected to having to live nearby dirty, smelly water. Thus, cleaning the water will not affect the river’s use to any significant capacity, at least not enough to call for increased government funding for riverside recreational facilities.

With consideration of these points, it is difficult to perceive the cogency of the writer’s argument. Should any of these counterpoints hold true, then the listed assumptions are proven unwarranted. As a result, the logic of the writer’s argument is unsound, the argument itself is tenuous and would indicate the government of Mason City should not allocate greater funds towards riverside recreational facilities as this would be an unnecessary expense.