In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favourite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Water sports like swimming, boating, fishing are popular sports. First, the argument readily assumes that, due to increase in water sports the quality of the river water is degrading. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, the quality of water might also degrade because people living nearby may not be keeping the surrounding clean. If strict rules are made by government then there will be a better surrounding maintained. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that before looking after the river, first some action should be taken on water sports.

The argument readily claims that the author also points out that if the state has announced to clean up the river water and hence the use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase.

This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation. To illustrate further if they clean the river, then more and more people will be attracted towards its beauty and there be more crowd which will again lead to the degradation of river water and even the surrounding near it. If the argument had provided evidence that despite strict rules and regulations by state, the water quality is degraded because of the people coming for water sports then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author notes that the city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities. However, scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects and raises several skeptical questions. For example, can government maintain river water quality by devoting more money? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of all the various angles and factors involved with improving riverside recreational facilities. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information.