Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore

The above argument presents two views regarding the sales of 'Newsbeat' magazine.Now,choosing or commenting on which of these is better is subjected to derieving the assumptions or solid facts with regards to which the two opposing claims were made.

Speaking in favour of the Editor as opposed to the publisher, it becomes necesssary to know if the sales of those issues which didn't feature political news on the front page displayed a substantitive increase.

if it did,which topics were they talking about and how many copies were soldought to be known.Thus talking in numbers would help us come upto a proper conclusion.

Secondly,it is also worthnoting the audience to which the magazine caters.If the audience mostly comprises of businesmen,brokers or investors of the sorts,in depth political view is unlikely to attract them.

It is very important to sell it to th proper audeince. This having said,was there any different strategiess choosen to market different issues also is a concern then.

Also the basis on which the publisher is maing claims to shift the emphasis, is that even a trustworthy source?

The editor also should know if there are any fundamental shortcomings in the content of the magazine.

Although the people have interest in the political scenario, is the magazine doing an honest job? Does it provide true views an suggesstions , which appeal to the people or does it simply propagate any specific agenda?

Thus it wuld be better to conclude by saying that unless both the parties have sufficient data, having supporting matter with convincable figures, it would be unwise to make any decision.