“Tusk University should build a new recreational facility, both to attract new students and to better serve the needs of our current student body. Tusk projects that enrollment will double over the next 10 years, based on current trends. The new student body is expected to reflect a much higher percentage of commuter students than we currently enroll. This will make the existing facilities inadequate. Moreover, the cost of health and recreation club membership in our community has increased rapidly in recent years. Thus, students will find it much more advantageous to make use of the facilities on campus. Finally, an attractive new recreation center would make prospective students, especially athletically gifted ones, more likely to enroll at Tusk.”

Write a response that examines this argument’s unstated assumptions. Make sure you explain how this argument depends on those assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions are wrong.

The argument presented is not particularly accurate for the following reasons; it is based on the assumption that building a recreational facility will be the only way to attract new students. It also infers that Tusk university will have double its population due to current trends, as well as assumes that enrolled students will sign up for the recreation club and invariably, increase cost of health. These assumptions render the argument incongruous.

To begin with, the need of the current students as mentioned in the argument is not expantiated leaving that fact vague. Perhaps if it was said that the present students complain about having recreational facilities or that the school is lacking in the area of sports and recreation as evident by the bad performance of the school in competitions, that would have made the point clearer.

Furthermore, the attraction of new students cannot only be based on a new recreational facility. The interest of students differ vastly and basing on that assumption is invalid. If it had a supporting factor that the residents around the school or the population of the state in which the school is located, actively engage in recreation, it would have better supported the idea.

Also, the basis on current trends to result in a double of the school population is not quite right. This is because the source of the research was not mentioned, neither was the authenticity of it confirmed. The current trends viewed now can change at any time due to reasons which include economy, change in interest, and style of living. Increase in recreational club membership and cost of health is not a firm basis either. That could have happened because a lot of people travelled to the place in the recent years for vacation and engaged in recreation. Perhaps it was just a passing trend.

The argument, when viewed superficially, may seem logical but does not present relevant information to support its basis. The need of the students should have been delved into deeper as well as the research conducted on membership of recreational clubs. Attracting new students by building a new recreational facility does not make accurate sense either and that makes this particular argument invalid.