Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia Using an observation centered approach to studying Tertian culture he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

The argument discusses two different approach to a certain subject field, in different time-period. However, in order to do that the author needs to be provided more evidence to support his claims. The argument is presented with certain holes or assumptions which weakens the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that an ancient research, which is from twenty years ago would justify a field that is so evolving, culture now as well. The author wants the audience to persuade on the fact that Dr. Field’s research which was two decades ago, is flawed as it didn’t corelate with the author’s current work. To believe what author claims, audience might need support on how the data was wrong when it was collected. Author assumes that the culture and traditions are exactly same as it was when the first research was carried out.

Second of all, the data which the author encountered with was vast with what the previous research was about. This undermines the result collected from the particular island, Tertia. The author assumes the fact that expanding the field set wouldn’t alter the results or findings. The author mentions that the anthropologist’s research is merely a part of author’s original dataset. The author wants the audience to ignore the fact that extracting a minor part from his own research, will change the final outcome.

The author also claims that Tertia’s children don’t talk about other adults from the village and rather talks about their own biological parents only. The inevitable fact is that what kind of questions were posed to children, as author claims his research was interview based. The author assumes that the readers might not need evidence to support that the questions were fairly structured.

Finally, the author refutes Dr. Field observation-centered approach claiming that his interview-based approach provides true results, despite the fact that there is no such commendable evidence provided to support this claim. The anecdote circumvent that the observation-centered approach is invalid for a whole wide topic culture. The author assumes that one falsely acquired study is enough to state a study is not suitable for a whole vast subject i.e. cultures. Avast, the research is not yet completed as mentioned by the author, still he is brave enough to refute the previous findings afore the final results.

Furthermore, the author needs to mention appropriate evidence to bolster his research and claims. The author needs to be more specific about how his research grew gradually. There needs to be evidence provided in order to strengthen his view.