Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an
observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations
that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological
parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes
Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews
that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much
more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp
decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some
anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing
practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered
method.
Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to
decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be
sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the
recommendation.
The author claims that in order to get accurate result , future research on the Tertial child
rearing practices should conducted via interview centered method rather than
observed-centered approach.The authore comes to this conclusion on the basis of recent
interview conducted by Dr.Karp which shows result opposites to the interview conducted by
Dr.Filed.However, before coming to any effectie conclusion the author needs to answer three
questions.
First of all, can a research conducted twenty years ago be compared to the recent research ?
Did both the researchers has visited same island ? It may be possible that twenty years ago ,the
children of Tertian culture were reared by enitre village , but now the culture has changed and
the children are now reared by their parents only. Dr filed had only visited one particular island
while Dr Karp has visited group of the island,it may be possible that both of them had visited
different island and the rearing practice are different among the islands.If the above
assumptions hold true ,it will weaken the author claim inevitabely.
Seondly, how many children were interviewed by Dr.Karp ? What kind of questions were asked
during interview? The author has not provided any evidence regarding number of children
interviewed by Dr.Karp.It is possible that the Dr.Karp has conducted research on only small
amount of children and those children were reared by their parents while other childrent were
reared by entire village.It may be possible that the Dr Field has observed may children and after
observing many children came to the conclusion.It is possible that the childrent were not
specifically asked about their rearing practice or their biological parents.If the number of children
interviewed by Dr.karp is very less than Dr.Field and the question asked during interview is
irrelevant, then the authors claim does not hold water.
If children were spending more time talking about their parents , can we conclude from that they
were reared by their parents? It may be possible that the children were taught about interview
and instructed to only talk about their parents.Or the children were generally talking about their
parents because they did not know the purpose of the inteview. This does not provide a strong
evidence that they were reared by their parents.
To conclude,It is possible that the interview-centered approach is better than observation
centered approach if authore provide solution to these three questions : change in the culture
during twenty years,number of the students interviewed and questions asked during the
interviewd.