Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents However my recent interviews with childr

In the article written by Dr. Karp - an anthropologist, it has been mentioned that the study conducted by Dr. Field does not lead to a valid conclusion and that the approach that is based on observations for studying cultures is not valid as well and that interview-centered studies are more valid. The anthropologist came to this conclusion based on the research that he has conducted recently that showed that children talk about their parents most of the time. This statement contradicts Dr. Field’s statement which states that children are raised by other people in the village and not by their own parents. Although this conclusion seems to be valid, there are some statements that should be answered in order to properly evaluate it.

First of all, According to Dr. Field’s conclusion, it shows that the conditions 20 years ago and now are comparable. In other words, the comparison between the two ages has shown that the circumstances of the study are the same then and now and that nothing has changed since then. However, this may not be true. A lot of changes take place as time flies. This is even applicable to the qualities of people. It cannot be taken out of consideration that the qualities and traits of people change as generations pass by. The conditions of study that were prevailing 20 years ago may not be the same now. Maybe the children in the island of Tertia were different a while ago. Perhaps the culture changed in the past years. It may also be possible that children of the present age prefer to be raised by their biological parents. In addition, maybe the parents themselves feel that they need to rear their children. We do not know if any of these criteria have been taken into consideration for the recent study. If any of these situations happen to be true, the conclusion drawn is not as strong as we might think.

Secondly, the anthropologist assumes that since the present age children talk more about their parents more than any other villagers, they are being raised by them and that the former conclusion by Dr. Field is invalid. This statement seems to be based on an assumption and cannot be deemed correct. The author immaturely presumed that talking about parents necessarily means that the kids are being brought up by their parents. The children could be being raised by the other adults in the village but they talk about their parents often. It could be that the children prefer being reared by their biological parents but that is not being followed as a tradition in the island. Hence, the children are spending a large amount of time talking about their parents. If any of these are true, the argument is weakened up to a large extent.

Lastly, the author assumes that the graduate students conducting the study will yield accurate results. However, this sentence may not be valid for a lot of reasons. How do we know that the students are necessarily doing the interviews the right way? Do we know if the author has accompanied them during the study? If he did, maybe he did not have the opportunity to monitor all the interviews being taken. Perhaps the author did not accompany the students at all. As the article clearly states that the people conducting the study are graduate students, we cannot completely know if they’ve had prior experience in a similar field. Maybe they do not know how it is done and have made some assumptions of their own while collecting data. Even if the entire interview has been moderated, the results may not be accurate. If any of these assumptions are correct, the argument does not hold water.

To conclude, the argument is flawed because of several stated/ unstated assumptions. A proper conclusion could only be drawn if these gaps are filled by the author. Without a complete understanding of these points, any of these studies cannot be deemed invalid.