Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

The author asserts that since his research team gained a result which is against Dr. Field's findings, therefore, Dr. Field's research is wrong. While this argument seems convincing at first glance, there are significant underlying flaws that raise doubt about the author's conclusion.

First of all, the argument unfairly assumes that his interview is more accurate than Dr. Field results while no concrete evidence is offered to substantiate this claim. If Dr. Krap instituted a survey, his poll can be evaluated in two aspects. First,

If his survey was confidential, if not, his results might be distorted. The respondents might provide false information that they believed that the questioners approve of. Second, we are not informed if Dr. Krap created questions or his students. If his students created the questions, they may failed to consider different aspects of evaluation.

In addition, the author claims that since his own result is correct so Dr. Field's results should be invalid while there is no concrete evidence to prove the causality. We are not informed if how many people living in Tertia and how man people contributed to the survey, the accuracy of each research can be evaluated by the proportion of respondents to population. On the other hand, we are not informed about the range of responders' age. Do they both consider the same age range to determine if a person is adult or children?

However, we should consider that Dr. Krap's result might be more precise considering that children attribution change in a new generation. According to the argument, Dr. Field have done this research twenty years ago, it means those children are now parents so the new generation may reject their traditions.

In sum, this author lacks clear evidence to prove his claim. If he were to provide evidence regarding the criteria he considered for comparing his research with Dr. Field's research and the real causality of the claim that Dr. Filed results are invalid his argument might be more convincing.