"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

According to the homeowners’ letter, Adams Realty is superior than Fitch Realty. As evidence to his claim, he compared the number of real estate agents and revenue. But number of real estate agents and revenue without the measure of profit cannot be an indicator of superiority. Also, he states one example of his selling experience with both the realties, which is not enough to evaluate which one superior, and there is also a certain degree of anachronism in the argument.

The homeowner says that because Adams Realty has more real estate agents than Fitch Realty, it is superior than the other. This cannot be a clear indicator of success. While Adams has more agents than Fitch, the effectiveness of greater number of agents is not clear from the argument. May be Fitch’s agents are more qualified than Adams’s, which compensates for the less number and part time working. So qualifications of the agents are important to make such a claim.

The homeowner also states that the revenue of Adams was twice last year than that of Fitch’s. But higher revenue does not indicate higher profit. May be the cost of Adams was higher than Fitch, which the author didn’t mention. It is very likely that due to less number of agents some of whom are part time workers, Fitch might have less overhead costs than that of Adams. The argument also compared the higher average sales of house of Adams to the lower sales of Fitch. But it fails to mention what kind of house the two realties sold. Are they similar in size or quality? Are they located in the same neighborhood? These are crucial points that are required for analysis before coming to a conclusion. Again, the data about revenue and average sales provided was of only one year, which might not be sufficient to determine the superiority.

As a support to his argument, the homeowner mentions his personal experience of selling houses with both the realties. However, the two events took place 10 years apart, which is a large difference in time. Many things could change in the course of 10 years. For instance, the economy might be going down 10 years ago, which can explain the reason behind the longer time to sell the house with Fitch. May be people were not very interested in buying house 10 years ago. He also failed to provide the selling prices of the houses he enlisted with the realties, which leaves yet another question unanswered.

Therefore, the homeowner’s claims need to be backed up by stronger evidences he did not consider. And more information have to be collected in order to reach a proper conclusion.