“Two years ago Nova High School began to use interactive computer instruction in three academic subjects. The school dropout rate declined immediately, and last year’s graduates have reported some impressive achievements in college. In future budgets the school board should use a greater portion of the available funds to buy more computers, and all schools in the district should adopt interactive computer instruction throughout the curriculum.”

The argument claims that, because the high school has seen improvements in dropout rates in the years following the adoption of a new teaching methodology, the Nova School District should dedicate a greater portion of their budget to computers so as to use interactive computer instruction throughout its curriculum. As it is presented, the argument reveals several leaps of faith and neglects to provide adequate data to support its equation. By relying on unsubstantiated assumptions, the argument’s conclusion remains questionable for several key reasons.

Firstly, the argument assumes that, because Nova High School’s dropout rate declined simultaneously with the deployment of interactive computer instruction, the new teaching methodology must have caused the decline in dropout rate. This is not necessarily the case as it is quite possible that the improved dropout rates were entirely unrelated to the new teaching method. For example, it could be the case that the last two classes of seniors were more ambitious than the preceding classes and that the dropout rate would have declined irrespective of the increased use of computers. Without better knowledge of the composition of each class, it is difficult to conclude that the improvement was entirely due to the new computers.

Secondly, in suggesting that interactive computer instruction should be used throughout the district’s curriculum, the argument does not account for the chance that the methodology is only applicable for certain academic subjects or for certain grades. While the computers proved helpful for the three subjects, there is no guarantee that they will be similarly beneficial in other subjects – one would not think that English and Math should be taught in the same way, so there is no guarantee that computers would be helpful across all school subjects. Further, there is a good chance that students in elementary and middle schools would find the computers distracting, lessening the positive impact of interactive computer instruction.

Thirdly, the argument is not clear in its ultimate suggestion and does not provide sufficient information with which to evaluate the conclusion. It would be helpful to understand which budget categories would lose funding in order to expand the dollars available for interactive computer instruction. Without knowing what would lose funding, it is difficult to determine the net benefit of the recommendation.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and its conclusion is left questionable as a result. In evaluating an argument is is paramount to understand all of the related evidence, which is not provided by this argument. Had the argument provided additional detail such as which budget categories would be hurt by this reallocation, it would be made much stronger. By relying on unproven assumptions and excluding relevant details, the argument remains weak and validity of its argument’s conclusion remains questionable.