Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument highlights the fact that, two years ago, radio station wcqp in rockville increased the number of call-in advice programs and witnessed an increase in its share of radio audience in rockville area. Seeing this example, and citing a nationwide survey, the station manager at kick medway recommends adding more call-in advice programmes in pursuit of a larger listening audience. However for this we need to evaluate certain assumptions which can help us understand whether the argument holds any merit.

To begin with, it is stated in the argument that wcqp saw a rise in its share of listening audiences. now this maybe due to a variety of reasons and not necessarily because of the introduction in dial-in programs. For example, the rise in number of listeners could be attributed to a decline in other

radio stations, the listeners, now faced with a limited choice, end up choosing wcqp. also, it is not stated clearly that the only change made by the

radio station is the introduction of the call-in advice program. there may be some other underlying factor which could have boosted the listenership of wcqp. if the assumption is clarified and validated with the help of proofs, it can be said without a shred of doubt that call-in advice programs are bound to increase the popularity of radio

still, there are certain other factors which need to be evaluated first, one of it is the concern that wcqp implemented this change around 2 years ago. if kick tries to do the same, it may not get the same results as the social culture could have changed. it may be that call-in advice shows are not really popular now, we all know how fast social trends change. The times have moved forward, and with them peoples tastes may have also moved ahead. it may even be the case that radio itself is no longer a popular medium. we all have seen how new technology keeps superseding the old. Firstly, we need to ask whether people are still willing to listen to radios or whether call-in advice shows are still in vogue. if this is not true, then kick’s mission of gaining a larger listening audience may end up being a failure.

Finally, the argument mentions nothing about the demographics or culture of medway, is it similar to rockville? The argument has mentioned a nationwide study but the results for that study may not be relevant as radios generally operate in highly localised regions. Most people love radios as they are according to the tastes of small cities or towns. medway radioheads could even end up disliking the proposed show format, and uninterested in listening to kick. medway could have a very unique culture which does not appreciate call-in advice shows . A question pertaining to this which could be asked is whether the current scenario in medway is similar to that of rockville two years back? if the answer is yes, then we could try to replicate the actions of rockville and get expected results, otherwise the station manager of kick might find himself or herself surprised at the lack of increased listenership.

To sum up, we have sufficiently proved that the argument is flawed because it relies on several unwarranted assumptions. Moreover there is need of strong evidence which provides beyond doubt the relation between cause and effects which the author of argument has tried to describe. if the author is able to provide the data to support the argument, preferably in the form of a systematic research study, perhaps it would be possible to evaluate the validity of the claim made by the author of the argument.